Azerbaijan Redux

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m back in Azerbaijan. The balcony floorboards are rotted, the water heater is broken and there are protests every few weeks.

I’ll be here for a few months writing about the regions. Right now I’m in Baku and I’ve spent the first week getting situated and catching up with the world I left behind before. Soon I’ll be looking into holy places, minor officials’ salaries, the life of a soldier and possibly hazelnuts farmers.

There’s a lot to say about Azerbaijan and even more to learn. There are claims of endemic economic malaise and there are well-publicized drives against corruption. Baku itself is abuzz with repairs that have moved a few blocks up the hill in the months I’ve been away. Stay tuned, my goal is to put up at least one entry a week from now on – I’ll begin tomorrow with a visit to the tank cemetery.

About Vladic Ravich

cofounded Artery.
This entry was posted in Azerbaijan, Baku, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

